SPINNING AND KNITTING

Here are a few of the many steps involved in the manufacture of our knitwear.

The majority of the artisans we work with are alpaca ranchers. They are directly involved in every stage of transforming alpaca wool from animal breeding to the finished product.

Please note these traditional methods are done solely by hand. No machines are used!


SHEARING

Shearing of the alpacas takes place annually, from October to December. It is the spring season in South America, and time for the ranchers to take out their shearing scissors to clip their animals. Electric clippers are not commonly used, most often because the shearing locations simply do not have access to electric power or it is too expensive. The alpaqueros handle their scissors deftly, however, and shearing is done efficiently and without harm to the animals.

 

 


FIBER SORTING AND CLEANING

The fleece is shaken out to remove the maximum amount of dust and dirt, but it is crucial to complete the work by hand. It may take several hours!

Next, the different fiber qualities are classed.

Coarse hair (ex. on the legs) is removed and the finer fiber is separated. The artisans divide the baby grade fiber which will be used for scarves from that of intermediate quality (fleece) which will be used for mittens. Colours are also categorized since different shades can be found on the same animal.


SPINNING

Alpaca fiber is spun by hand on a spindle, the predecessor of the spinning wheel. It is a tool very well suited to the lifestyle of our Peruvian artisans.

 Peruvian alpaca ranchers move with their animals as shepherds did in the past. Each day, they walk several kilometers with their animals to well-known water sources and pasture. On the high plateaus of the Andes, these pastures are vast expanses and most of them are not fenced. The ranchers therefore accompany their animals for the entire day.

 


TWISTING

At this stage a single thread is twisted together with another to obtain a double stranded yarn.

It is very common in Peru to see men working the alpaca fiber, especially the spinning and twisting.


KNITTING

Rosa in action! She is knitting socks.

In the Andes, the artisans often work outdoors while doing agricultural work. This video was made during a potato harvest, at over 3800 meters altitude, on the shore of Lake Titicaca.

As with most of her knitting compatriots, Rosa has been spinning and knitting since a very young age. You can see this in how quickly she works! As soon as she has a minute, out come the knitting needles! You can hear her converse with her companions in Spanish and also in Aymara, their native tongue.


QUALITY CONTROL AND TRAINING

We have been working to improve the quality of the knits with the artisans of the Arte-Aymara Association since 2004. Since our beginnings, the knitters have made giant leaps in their craft and have attained very high-quality standards. Of course, we have contributed to this through our continuing education, but the credit is due to the fact that the artisans share their knowledge and help one another. Each product goes through two to three rounds of quality control carried out by experienced artisans. Measurements, knitting quality, finish, softness and many other criteria are meticulously inspected and corrected if necessary.


PRIDE IN THE FINISHED PRODUCT!

For the Peruvian artisans, the fact that their knitwear is worn in a place as far away as Canada gives them immense pride. Thank you!

Fierte-produit10x6

FILAGE ET TRICOT

Voici quelques-unes des nombreuses étapes de la confection des tricots.

La majorité des artisans(nes) avec qui nous travaillons sont éleveurs(ses) d’alpagas et procèdent à toutes les étapes de transformation depuis l’élevage jusqu’au produit fini.

Remarquez que ces méthodes traditionnelles sont 100% manuelles. Aucune machine n’est utilisée!


TONTE DES ALPAGAS

La tonte se fait une fois par année entre octobre et décembre. C’est au printemps que les éleveurs affûtent leurs ciseaux pour tondre leurs alpagas. La tondeuse électrique (clipper) n’est pas très commune là-bas. Bien souvent, les zones où s’effectue la tonte sont dépourvues d’électricité ou bien l’outil est trop coûteux. Mais soyez sans crainte, les alpaqueros manient les ciseaux avec une très grande habileté! La tonte se fait efficacement et sans heurts.

 

 


CLASSIFICATION ET NETTOYAGE DE LA FIBRE

Les toisons sont bien secouées afin de retirer le maximum de saletés mais il est impératif de terminer le travail à la main. Cela peut prendre plusieurs heures!

Il faut ensuite classifier les différentes qualités de fibres. Les poils grossiers (ex. ceux des pattes) sont retirés puis la fibre plus fine est mise à part. Les artisan(e)s divisent la fibre de grade bébé qui servira aux foulards de celle de qualité intermédiaire (fleece) qui sera utilisée pour les mitaines. Les couleurs sont catégorisées puisque différents tons se retrouvent sur un même animal.


FILAGE

La fibre d’alpaga est filée à la main au fuseau, l’ancêtre du rouet. C’est un outil très adapté au mode de vie des artisan(e)s du Pérou.

Les éleveurs d’alpagas péruviens se déplacent avec leurs bêtes comme le faisaient jadis les bergers. À chaque jour, ils marchent plusieurs kilomètres pour aller rejoindre les points d’eau et les herbages. Dans ces hauts plateaux des Andes, les pâturages sont immenses et la très grande majorité ne sont pas clôturés. Les éleveurs accompagnent donc leur animaux toute la journée.

 


RETORDAGE

À cette étape le fil simple doit être tordu (twisté) avec un autre pour obtenir un fil de 2 brins.

Au Pérou, il est très commun de voir les hommes  travailler la fibre d’alpaga, surtout de la filer et la retordre.


TRICOT

Voyez Rosa en pleine action! Elle tricote des bas.

Dans les Andes, les artisanes travaillent souvent en pleine nature entre deux tâches agricoles. Cette vidéo a été tournée lors d’une cueillette collective de pommes de terre, à plus de 3800 mètres d’altitude en bordure du Lac Titicaca.

Comme la majorité de ses compatriotes tricoteuses, Rosa file et tricote depuis son plus jeune âge. Vous le voyez dans sa rapidité d’exécution! Dès qu’elle a une minute, elle sort son tricot! Vous l’entendez converser avec ses compagnes en espagnol mais aussi en aymara, leur langue maternelle.


CONTRÔLE DE QUALITÉ ET FORMATIONS

Depuis 2004, nous travaillons à l’amélioration de la qualité des tricots avec les artisanes de l’association Arte-Aymara. Depuis nos début, les tricoteuses ont fait des pas de géants et ont atteint de très hauts standards de qualité. Certes nous y avons contribué grâce à nos formations continues mais le mérite tient beaucoup au fait que les artisanes partagent leurs connaissances et se corrigent entre elles. Chaque produit passe 2 à 3 rondes de contrôle de qualité exécutées par des artisanes expérimentées. Les mesures, la qualité du tricot, la finition, la douceur entre autres sont minutieusement inspectés et corrigés au besoin.


FIERTÉ DU PRODUIT FINI!

Pour les artisan(e)s du Pérou, que leurs tricots soient portés d’aussi loin qu’au Canada est une immense fierté. Merci!

Fierte-produit10x6